The Victoria Residential Builders Association announced the 2018/19 Board of Directors at their AGM on November 13, 2018 at the Royal Colwood Golf Club. Speakers at the event were Mayor Fred Haynes and Councillor Zac de Vries, District of Saanich and Murray Frank, Building It Right.

The Board is represented by:

President: Jenny Martin, Jenny Martin Design

Past President: Todd Halaburda, New West Development Corp

First Vice-President: Kyle Ryan, Abstract Developments Inc

Second Vice-President:  Dusty Delain, Amity Construction Inc

Treasurer:  Norm Verbrugge, Norman Homes Inc

Builders Council Chair:  Kyle Ryan, Abstract Developments Inc

Suppliers and Trades Council Chair: Derek Ballman, FloForm Countertops


  • Tony Aindow, Goodison Construction
  • Derek Ballman, FloForm Countertops
  • Russ Barry, Interactive Construction
  • Mike Dalton, Citta Group
  • Lisa Dunsmuir, Step One Design
  • Steven Hurst, Stride Properties
  • Ellie Sercombe, Limona Group
  • Paul Smith, K2 Stone

The following President’s Awards were presented by 2017/18 President Todd Halaburda:

President’s Award for leading Builders’ Council – Kyle Ryan, Abstract Developments Inc

Jerry Hepburn Memorial Award for integrity & professionalism – David Dare, Roads’End Contracting

Mike Kipot Award for commitment to energy efficient construction – Brian Trenchard, EnViroTec General Contracting Ltd

Sponsors Appreciation Award for supporting VRBA programs – FloForm Countertops

Ocean Concrete Community Award for community dialogue on affordability – Aryze Development and Construction

Marilyn Ann Lee Award for innovation – Dusty Delain, Amity Construction Inc     

Service Award for delivering builder education – Peter Baillie, Times Colonist; Murray Frank, Building It Right; Rob Barry, Island Energy;  Anton Van Dyk, Centra Windows; Graham Finch, RDH Building Science; Braden Batch, Canada Mortgage and Housing; Craig Vaughan, Reed Pope Law Corporation; and Russ Barry, Interactive Construction.

 Service Award for guidance as Past President and Board member – Terry Johal, Terry Johal Developments

“I want to thank Todd Halaburda and the award winners for all of their hard work during the past year,” says Jenny Martin, President. “I am looking forward to working with a great team of VRBA members building outstanding communities and inspiring homes.”

The news release may be viewed here.